Translating Pre-Clinical Research to Clinical Patient Care™



Help Us Reach Our Educational Support Goal of $40,000
Educational Travel Grants supported in part by:

Recognition Awards

The Recognition Award program has been established by the Association as a means of recognizing the commitment, achievement and/or potential of individuals in the field of Clinical Mass Spectrometry. This program is one of the means by which the Association encourages the advancement of mass spectrometry in clinical chemistry via the promotion of research, education and application.

The Distinguished Contribution Award

Make a Nomination

The purpose of the Distinguished Contribution Award is to recognize a contributor who has conducted research, teaching or application of Mass Spectrometry in Clinical Chemistry of significant impact. The first award will be given in honor of Dr Stephen Hofstadler.

Nominations will be evaluated on elements of the following criteria:

  1. Program of research: Quality, scope and overall impact on the profession,
  2. The extent to which the contribution is based on original concepts and/or innovative practices recognized throughout the field over a sustained period,
  3. The impact the contribution has had on the field, including education, influence on practitioners and the care of patients, organizations, thought leaders, and research, and
  4. Influence on research advancement and career development within the profession

Nomination Application Information should include:

  1. A CV of the intended recipient,
  2. A concise summary of the applicant's accomplishments and/or contributions,
  3. Two letters of support that detail the nominee's significant contribution, and
  4. Two published research articles.

The Award recognizes a focused or singular achievement in education, technology development or applied mass spectrometry in clinical chemistry. The award is conferred at the MSACL US Annual Conference.


The 2015 application deadline is December 1, 2014.

Selection Procedure:

Nominators and award winner will receive notification by December 15th 2014. The award winner will be honored during the MSACL Conference, March 28th – April 1st 2015 in San Diego, CA.