Translating Pre-Clinical Research to Clinical Patient Care™



Help Us Reach Our Educational Support Goal of $40,000
Educational Grants supported in part by:
Brian Kelly
Danyel Tacker
Amadeo Pesce

Scientific Committee

The Scientific Committee is assembled to review abstract submissions for the annual conference. This includes reviewing abstract submissions, suggesting plenary speakers, recruiting researchers to solicit abstracts for submission to the conference and identifying emerging topics of interest. The topics outlined below are the dominant topics addressed the MSACL conferences. MSACL encourages submissions in all areas of clinical mass spectrometry and evaluates abstracts that do not fall in the main topical categories listed below by a group composed of the Chair, Vice Chair and the Topic Leads.

Notice: Undefined variable: last_topic in /home/msacl0017/public_html/include/webpage_structure/include_subtab_content_nextgen.php(1170) : eval()'d code on line 36


David Herold, PhD, MD
UCSD / VA Medical Center, San Diego

Vice Chair

Dan Holmes, MD
St. Paul's Hospital

Data Science

Patrick Mathias, MD, PhD (Lead)
University of Washington

Nuno Bandeira, PhD
University of California, San Diego

Shannon Haymond, PhD
Ann and Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Randall Julian, PhD
Indigo BioAutomation

Steve Master, MD, PhD
Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia


Timothy Garrett, PhD (Lead)
University of Florida

Erin Baker, PhD
North Carolina State University

Gary Patti, PhD
Washington University

Adam Rosebrock, PhD
Stony Brook School of Medicine


Rebecca Harris, MD (Lead)
Weill Cornell Medical Center

Cory Bystrom, PhD
Cedars Sinai

Chris Cox, PhD
Cobio Diagnostics

Clifton Fagerquist, PhD

Zhen Zhao, PhD
Weill Cornell Medicine

Natural Products / Environmental

Richard van Breemen, PhD (Lead)
Linus Pauling Institute, Oregon State University

Roy Gerona, PhD
University of California San Francisco

Jack Henion, PhD
Advion, Inc

Marilyn Huestis, PhD
University of Maryland and Huestis & Smith Toxicology, LLC

David Schwope, PhD
Aegis Sciences Corporation

Practical Training

Rob Fitzgerald, PhD (Lead)
University of California, San Diego

Judy Stone, PhD

Grace van der Gugten
Provincial Health Services Authority, Canada


Andy Hoofnagle, MD, PhD (Lead)
University of Washington

Tim Collier, PhD
Cleveland HeartLab

Mari DeMarco, PhD
The University of British Columbia

Michael Lassman, PhD

Chris Shuford, PhD
Lab Corp

Irene van den Broek, PhD
Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Regulations & Standards

Julianne Botelho, PhD (Lead)

Hubert Vesper, PhD

Victoria Zhang, PhD
University of Rochester

Tissue Imaging

Livia Eberlin, PhD (Lead)
University of Texas at Austin

Ron Heeren, Prof. Dr.
Maastricht University

Kristina Schwamborn, MD, PhD
Institute of Pathology, TU Munich

Jeff Spraggins, PhD
Vanderbilt University

Tox / TDM / Endocrine

Kara Lynch, PhD (Lead)
University of California, San Francisco

Jennifer Colby, PhD

Dan Holmes, MD
St. Paul's Hospital

Mark Marzinke, PhD
Johns Hopkins University

Brian Rappold
Lab Corp